The Joys of Being Horde

Against my better judgment, I rolled a blood elf paladin on the US Aggramar server.  I named her Leyola.  The very same Leyola that tosses HoT’s around as a Night Elf Druid on US Winterhoof.  I even wrote a backstory for her, claiming alternate histories and whatnot.  Apparently, the stats show that you don’t really care.  But that’s beside the point.  With Recruit-A-Friend, I quested the living bejeezus out of a single zone without having to move to another zone of equal level to get the necessary experience to move on.

The lore is remarkably good.  The immersion is unreal.  I even /spat on a gnome.

It’s Good to Be Bad

I apologize to all Horde enthusiasts, since the connotations involved with this section title imply that Horde are the antagonists to the Alliance.  When you read the lore, that is hardly the case.  Numerous books have been released that highlight the history of Azeroth from the perspective of the Orcs (why there aren’t any stories involving anything besides Humans and Orcs is another animal that I’d like to tackle in another post).

And the way they’re beautifully written, particularly Christie Golden’s Rise of the Horde, there is appeal to the human condition that they have.  Even more appealing is the twist to the Epic Battle Between Absolute Good vs. Evil fantasy trope.  Here we have a group of individuals that were originally in essence good, but were tainted by the countless evil that is the Burning Legion.  The perspective of Durotan escaping from the grasp of looming evil is something of a joy to read.

Drawing Parallels

But let’s stray away from the Orcs for a second.  I rolled a Blood Elf, and while the lore explanations given to justify their inclusion in the Horde are shaky at best, their story in a vacuum is one that I can identify with, having similar reactions to the plight of the gnomes. 

Here the Gnomes High Elves came to the Eastern Kingdoms to find and establish their own unique place to call home, complete with their own fascinating culture and customs.  They build a fantastic city named Gnomeregan Silvermoon, filled to the brim with anything and everything mechanical magical.

But due to the extreme underground depth magical aura of the city, it attracts a massive threat known as the Troggs Scourge, who show up suddenly and slaughter everything and everyone in their sight.  As valiant as their last stand is, those that choose to stay are either killed or turned into Lepper Gnomes Scourge themselves.

Am I to say that the blood elven story is a carbon copy from the gnomes?  Hardly.  There are huge differences between the two.  For instance, the gnomes are still trying to recapture their homeland, and the blood elves have recovered the undestroyed half of their former city.  One race is addicted to magic, the other is ridiculously eccentric.  Nonetheless, what appeals to me about the blood elves is not the similarities, but the variation of those similarities resulting in two wholly unique races.

At the late thirties, I’m far removed from the starter zone quests, but I’m looking forward to progressing the storylines pressed on by other horde factions, particularly the forsaken.

Give me more reasons to go into Scarlet Monastery, and I’ll be more than happy to storm in to kick ass and take some names.

I Love AoE

In between questing and instancing, I am falling in love all over again with AoE-based grinding.  I did it with Bashertin when he levelled up, and I’m doing so likewise on Leyola as a Protection-specced paladin.  Paired up with a recruit-a-friend buddy to gain triple experience and contribute to AoE dps with his own paladin, we are absolutely unstoppable against large packs of mobs.

I want to link lassira’s AoE grinding guide here, as reading it in preparation for my own Paladin has inspired me to actually do a frost mage AoE grinding guide, but apparently it’s blocked off at work.  So expect that link to come up when I get home, and expect a 3.2 grinding guide sometime in the future, hopefully before I leave for Japan.

Until then, see you on the other side of the internether!

16 thoughts on “The Joys of Being Horde

    • You can probably find me on one of my three mains, or mostly on Glaceon, my Shaman alt-du-jour.

      That being said, I am quite excited at the prospect of knowing another blogger on US WHOOF!

    • Ok, so there was so much going on last night that by the time I got on Winterhoof I forgot to look for you. /facepalm

      But yes, actually there is more than one blogger over there. I started playing there to hang out with Troutwort from Crits and Giggles, and now Eldadres from Plagued Candles and Klinderas from Slow Wolf have joined in the fun…not to mention several of my guildies from For The Horde. We have a real bloggers’ party going on there. =D

  1. Prot Pally AoE grinding is very powerful. I like it more than frost mage grinding for a few reasons: first of all, you don’t have to worry about stray mobs, you are durable enough to take the damage. Secondly, you have the ability to heal yourself through it should something arise. Lastly, the coolest part is with propper mob selection (just enough to refill mana, but not too many), you are full of mana and healthy when you’re done. So Far, of any class, I like prot pally AoE grinding the best, although I will be the first to admit, you can def kill more mobs at a time with Frost.

    • Sometimes I don’t even notice that I’m AoE grinding. They’re that OP.

      However, I am considering RAF’ing up a frost mage up to my Winterhoof paladin’s level and dualbox a mage/pally for some ridiculous AoE grinding.

  2. I think it’s a little bit unfair to compare the Blood Elf backstory to the Gnomish backstory. The fall of Silvermoon was a prominent part of WCIII. I couldn’t say for certain whether that actually predates the gnomish backplot (were there gnomes in the RTSes?) but it certainly couldn’t be described as “copied” from it.

    Although actually I’m pretty sure you can count the number of Warcraft races that are still in their original homeland on the fingers of one hand.

    Orcs: On a completely new planet.

    Draenai: On the same completely new planet.

    Blood Elves: Original homeland blown up in the Sundering. New homeland destroyed by scourge.

    Gnomes: Driven out of their homeland by some level 38 elites.

    Humans: Lorderon gone. Stormwind sacked and rebuilt. Dalaran sacked, rebuilt, then teleported to Northrend.

    Night Elves: Original homeland blown up in Sundering (see Blood Elves). Current homeland created in violation of the will of the dragon aspects, causing low-level mobs to go psycho all over Darnassus.

    Trolls: Virtually all of them kicked out of whichever homeland they had, and ruthlessly slaughtered by player characters.

    Forsaken: Okay *technically* they’re still living where they used to but they’ve **all been turned into zombies** which must be a downer.

    Basically I think it’s just the Dwarves and the Tauren that are actually living where they used to. Pretty much everybody else is in exile in one way or another. That’s the downside of living in a world designed to be a setting for real time strategy games.

    • I didn’t mean to imply that one race’s backstory copied off of another. I only said that I found multiple similarities between both that allowed me to connect to the blood elves as I did with the gnomes. I’m quite sure that loss of homeland and genocide are probably part of other races too (Draenei are the first to come to my mind), but it’s all part of the tropes that makes the faction/war-based fantasy so appealing.

      And level 38 elites? More like 28. Ouch =( But in my defense, there were a lot more than ‘some’ =D

  3. Ohhh Temitope!😄

    I am laughing so hard that I *know* nobody thinks I’m working! That is the most hilariously accurate assessment I have ever read. My favorite parts:

    “Gnomes: Driven out of their homeland by some level 38 elites.”

    “Current homeland created in violation of the will of the dragon aspects, causing low-level mobs to go psycho all over Darnassus.”

    “Forsaken: Okay *technically* they’re still living where they used to but they’ve **all been turned into zombies** which must be a downer.”

    I am wiping away literal tears…

    • AND I SPIT BACK AT YOU FROM MY BELF TOON! BUAH HAHA TAKE THAT, SILLY GNOME!

      Oh dear, I do believe I’ve gotten quite carried away there…

Leave a Reply

