Frost is the New Black ver. 3.1415 is Now Live!

Welcome to FitNB, patch 3.1415!  I arbitrarily chose pi as the new patch number.  Take that, Pythagoras!  Due to a large shift in attitude towards the game, and towards blogging in general, a lot of streamlined changes have been made to the blog, mainly aesthetically and administratively.

Patch Notes

  • New WordPress Theme: Iceburgg!  Chaostheory was really nice, and I liked the colour scheme, but it showcased too much “New Black” than it did “Frost.”  Also, the lack of a header was bothering me for a long time, and I was too lazy to make one.  Iceburgg’s generic graphic header fits the bill for now.
  • Blogroll minimized to 7.  Over half the authors of the former blogroll retired from blogging, resulting in this change.  For those on my blogroll who are still active, you’re still on my RSS, so don’t worry!
  • More Integration with Frostfiction.  I flipped my mind about WoW-related fiction posts belonging exclusively on Frostfiction, my fiction writing blog.  I’ve decided to put any of those posts into both blogs, and modifying the RSS feed widget slightly to promote the other blog.
  • Twitter Feed reduced to 1.  Also renamed to twitterfrost, because I’m a dork like that.
  • Recent Comments added to widget.  I like it when you comment on my blog, so this is letting you know that I like it.  Did that even make sense?
  • Top Posts added to widget.  I am particularly fond of my mini-series regarding the Future of WoW.  So far, it’s been a big hit with the readership, and hopefully this widget will reflect that.

That’s about it.  See you next week!

4 thoughts on “Frost is the New Black ver. 3.1415 is Now Live!

  1. I really love the new brighter look of it. Frosty, yay!

    I’ve never been a fan of bright text on black background. Several of my favourite blogs have it, and it’s painful to read, no matter how nice it looks. I may be old and conservative, but that’s what I was taught when I learned some basic magazine layout/editing at uni, many years ago, and I think it’s still valid.

    So cheers for you, making the blog easier to read. And it looks great too!

  2. One advantage of the old format was that it saved a some energy on my netbook for not brightening the screen too much XD

    • Not mentioned in the patch notes:
      -nested comments in comment section.

      It works! Awesome! Apparently, this, along with the snow theme, has been around forever. Double-awesome 😀

Leave a Reply

