Shedding Labels

A few things that are grinding my gears at the moment.

1.  Installing Rogers online protection (since I’m too cheap to afford any other form of antivirus software) has messed up my ability to log onto vent. 

For the last few weeks, I’ve been stuck on “connecting to server” or whatever message vent gives when they’re trying to find the server.  This means I’m less likely to be allowed to participate on progression runs.

2.  Last night, I pugged a zero-drake OS.  4.8k dps on Sarth, but died.

Awesome.  Elemental out before Heroism and double icy veins plus trinket and mana gem means 10k+ crits on 1.3s Frostbolt casting time.  Amazing.  Beat everyone on the meters, but not in overall damage though.  You see, the tank lagspiked and I ended up pulling aggro.  Sarth turns to me, spews out a giant cone of fire, oneshotting me and essentially half the raid.  ARGHH!  If I had stayed alive, I could actually wave my e-peen about this one.

3.  Sudden realization that I’m the slacker half of the morons and slackers demographic.

I know not to stand in void zones.  I know how to safety dance.  I know which side is positive and which side is negative.  But at the same time, I’m too cheap to buy that extra belt socket, or to upgrade all of my green-quality gems to blue.  I use the spellpower enchant that doesn’t require a billion abyss crystals (even though I’ve somehow accumuated about fifty, and they’re all untouched).  I still use my Scryers shoulder enchants because I can’t bother to touch a Hodir daily, and I’m more willing to spend Stone Keeper shards on heirloom items than those pvp enchants.  Resilience is for wussies anyways.  I stand perfectly still in lava walls because I have two Ice blocks to remove the debuff.  I stand in Sapphiron’s Blizzard because Frost Ward and Ice Barrier will do its job (I take the least damage on that fight according to the meters anways).

4.  The Midsummer Festival is not for me.

As much as I like to whore myself out to get neat titles (the Hallowed and Merrymaker are some of my favourites), why the heck would I want “the Flame Warden” as a title?  I’m a Frost Mage!  Ideally, I still want Champion of the Frozen Wastes, but…

5.  Apparently, I’m STILL not “good” enough for pugs.

I’m a solid 3-4k dps, but because I don’t have the achievement, people pass me over for other players.  What.  The.  Fudge.

Seriously, people are ridiculous sometimes.  They complain that raiding is becoming too easy, yet at the same time, they expect cookie cutter specs and achievement links as their standards for group composition.

You’re a Frost Mage?  lol.

Okay fine, I’ll switch to lolfire dual-spec.  (Yeah right.)

You don’t have achievement?  lol.

I swear, this is just an alt.  I’ve done it before on my resto druid main, so I know the mechanics.  (I cry a little inside whenever I do this)

You don’t have vent?  lol.

I’ve done it before.  I don’t need some neckbeard stoner mouthbreathing into his mic to tell me which tempest minion to DPS.  I have offtank assist macros to do that for me.  So screw you!  The nerve of some people.

6.  I’m too hardcore to be casual, too casual to be hardcore.

This is the realization that I came to yesterday.  The world of online gaming and nerdraging trolls is a difficult barrier to breach when trying to reach out to the casual market.  Unlike the Nintendo Wii, WoW does not have comparable alternatives to flock to if the intended design does not fit well with those outside the target demographic.  There is no Xbox 360 or PS3-equivalent MMO out there, so everyone is subject to the whim of blizzard, and by taking a step in the casual direction, the most vocal group, the hardcore, is naturally speaking out against it, and I’m subject to having this force-fed to me on every single website with every person with half an opinion on whether or not Yogg-Saron is too easy or not.  Why the heck should I care?  I’ve never even faced him yet!

Well, no more.  I’m taking my stand.  I don’t care about Ulduar.  I don’t care about hard modes.  I don’t care about progression.  I don’t care about getting into PuGs.  I dont’ care about PTR’s and patch notes.

Forget about these labels of hardcore and casual.  I’m going play WoW my way.  And I’m going to blog about it.

16 thoughts on “Shedding Labels

  1. “Forget about these labels of hardcore and casual. I’m going play WoW my way. And I’m going to blog about it.”

    Good, because frankly, we don’t want you any other way ^_^

  2. Pingback: Casual vs. Hardcore « A High Latency Life

  3. “I’m going play WoW my way. And I’m going to blog about it.”

    May your ancestors be praised!

    I was just link-jumping around the blogsphere in search of WoW-related entertainment and this is a *wonderful* post.

  4. “4. The Midsummer Festival is not for me.

    As much as I like to whore myself out to get neat titles (the Hallowed and Merrymaker are some of my favourites), why the heck would I want “the Flame Warden” as a title? I’m a Frost Mage! Ideally, I still want Champion of the Frozen Wastes, but…”

    Mmmm ironically the only reason I am chasing this… is I am a Fire(ish) Mage…

  5. check out COMODO security, its free and I love it – however at first it can be somewhat obtrusive. Check it out though, I think you will be impressed.

  6. I get why people ask for some stat info and whatnot for pugs, but they have gotten out of control. I swear, some of them have stricter guidelines than “hardcore” raiding guilds.

    This has brought about an unexpected (and perhaps, unintended by the devs? *winkwinknudgenudge) con of achievement tracking and sharing.

    It’s your sandbox, do what ya like in it as long as you.. y’know.. don’t umm.. bad kitty!

    ;P

  7. Nice post, i totally agree with the absurd of hardcore pugs this days “LF naxx25 achieve only” or “EoE25 must have key” ble ble ble good i have a proper guild and im raiding only with them 🙂
    Because there are only 2 things that i hate in wow: the first one is gnome rouges – nasty little insects and the second one are pugs…

  8. “You’re a Frost Mage? lol.”

    Seriously, frost is ftw. I love it. It may be spamming frostbolts over and over, but who else can stand in the blizzard like a frost mage?

  9. Pingback: TLC Thursday: Spreading the Links of Love - Sideshow & Syrana

  10. Hey everyone! I’m absolutely thrilled at the response that I got. I was worried that it came off as a bit whiney, but I suppose QQ is in the eye of the beholder!

    @Pike: I have my moods, and it makes me go back and forth on both my WoW habits and my writing habits as well. It’s a vicious cycle 😦

    @Fish: Do it. Farm some heroics. Get some heirloom items. I anticipate 3.2 to be an ideal time to try out AoE grinding.

    @Gnomer: I would be surprised if you didn’t want it!

    @Rob: That’s an antivirus/firewall software, is it? I’ll google it up, thanks!

    @Syr: definitely an unintended con. It’s highly open for misinterpretation as well. Thanks for the link love!

    @sal: what’s so confusing is that all that time wasted finding the “right” players could have been spent simply finding normal players and getting SOME form of raiding action done, instead of none at all. And gnome rogues? Why? *sadpanda*

  11. Pingback: Guild Woes & posts that made me go hmmmm « standing at the back in my sissy robe

  12. “4. The Midsummer Festival is not for me.

    As much as I like to whore myself out to get neat titles (the Hallowed and Merrymaker are some of my favourites), why the heck would I want “the Flame Warden” as a title? I’m a Frost Mage! Ideally, I still want Champion of the Frozen Wastes, but…”

    As soon as I looked at the holiday cheese way back around level 30 or so, I was like “I NEED THAT TITLE.” My fire mage is a flame keeper, and I’m happy. ^_^

    “Forget about these labels of hardcore and casual. I’m going play WoW my way. And I’m going to blog about it.”

    Word. Power to the mages. ~_^

  13. Happened across this post of yours, and wanted to let you know about AVG (Antivirus by Grisoft). I’ve been using it at home for about 4 years, and have had no issues with it. (I’m in IT and my wife downloads all kids of junk, so the software gets abused.) It’s 100% free for home use.

Leave a Reply

