Random Thoughts on a Monday

Normally, I don’t like doing “barrage of unrelated topics” type of posts, since I have problems with being straight to the point, but I figured I’ll try it out.  Staying up until 3am tends to limit one’s brain functionality during the writing process.

After the break: alts, homages, luck, hangover

Poké-alt Status

I levelled Umbreon, the shadow priest, to 20.  So far I really like the shadow priest playstyle.  At low levels, it has a LOT less downtime than using a mage, and the damage output is respectable on a farming basis.

Leafeon, the hunter, is already 22.  I started him after Umbreon, and he’s reached the big two-oh with three hours /played less.  Makes sense, since hunters are ridiculously OP for levelling.  I thought mages had AoE grinding, but damn, I ought to try my hand at gorillas when I reach STV.

Flareon, the not-yet-specced Warlock is still level 6.  Haven’t taken the gnome out since reaching Kharanos, since I’m too lazy to level now without the BoA shoulders, currently used by Umbreon.  Damn, those things are broken.  All of a sudden, I’m inclined to spout 4chan memes.

No repair bills
No replacing gear
10% Experience gain only
Final Destination

Now I’ve gotten that out of my system, moving on to a new topic.

Pathos, Logos, and Ethos

Recently, and I mean a week or so ago, Larísa (for some reason, alt+161 does not work on wordpress) of the Pink Pigtail Inn dinged a year on her blog.  I love her work, and every day or so is a new post teeming with warmness and pearls of wisdom. 

I often delude myself into thinking that hers is a mage blog with awesome theorycraft, but in reality, it’s just a comfortable setting and style that really strikes out to her target audience.

And while every post is done with care and has such a warm response, but I will always remember her blog for her wonderful post about Logos, Ethos, and Pathos.  To this day, I hardly ever click on the publish button without thinking back and reflecting on what I just wrote, and considering which elements were present in that particular post.

Come for the food, stay for the message.  Larísa, I wish you a heartfelt congratulations, and may your next year of blogging be filled with logos, ethos and pathos abound.

Resisting the Urge to Switch Mains

As much as I love having Leyola around as a resto druid, gatherbot, and overall RP fodder for my blog, she just doesn’t seem to get as much love from me as I do with Bashertin and Wimzig.  It’s only natural, since I’m so enamoured with frost mages and frost death knights.  So sometimes I feel she gets neglected.

But last Saturday changed all of that.  As if she weren’t so already, Leyola is officially more geared out and more content-progressed than Bashertin.  It was a wonderful sight to behold, with its ups and downs, but what started out as an innocent OS-10 pug at 6pm eventually became a full clear of Naxxramas ending at 3am.

Oneshots were had left and right, and as the third healer on raid duty, I did my job fairly adequately.  We stalled a bit with the construct quarter, and numerous slimefails and pipefails occurred, but we persevered and were able to take down Kel’Thuzad.  And to reward my efforts?  That in itself requires a bulleted list, since that’s how FREAKING LUCKY I got.

  • Hero’s Dreamwalker Spaulders
  • Fungi-Stained Coverings
  • Putrescent Bands
  • Scepter of Murmuring Spirits
  • Sash of Mortal Desire
  • Band of Neglected Pleas

And that was just from main spec rolls.  For offspec, I got:

  • Rapid Attack Gloves
  • Staff of the Plaguehound

Needless to say, I won’t have to raid with her for a while…

Getting My Nethers in a Twist

Friday night, at 12:30am (technically Saturday), the Twisted Nether Blogcast had a livecast on ustream, featuring a roundtable of awesome bloggers.  I was in attendance, and repping the frost power in livechat.  I participated in the previous roundtable, but this one was far more lively, and was just ridiculously fun.

This is the third time mentioning this, but it needs to be said.  If there was such a thing as a podcast hangover, I had one the next morning.  Great job, Bre and Fim!  I look forward to more episodes!

2 thoughts on “Random Thoughts on a Monday

  1. Oh, Krizzlybear, I just don’t know what to say. “Thanks” sounds so plain and doesn’t express how touched I was by this love song to my blog. You know I’ve been pondering from time to time upon if the blogging I do makes any difference at all, I’ve even wondered if anyone will notice if I’ll die and the PPI will shut down. But you really show me that the things we write DO make difference, that people actually remember it and think about it.

    I’ve got a few bad real life things that I’m currently worrying about. This post made my day and even gave me a few tears in my eyes, tears of joy and of thankfulness of the friendship I’ve found through my blogging.

    Thank you once again and big hugs from your gnome friend in a far away country.

  2. Thats the post that made me decide to blog.

    I have thought long and hard about getting those stupid shoulders, would make leveling alts a lot easier. Maybe I will power level the DK and stock up on gathery goodness.

    I like a blog with personality. . .even if it’s gnomish personality lol

Leave a Reply

