The Opposite of Burnout

I haven’t been blogging much lately, because, well…I’m having a little too much fun with Cataclysm right now.  I have a bunch of alts that need to get to 85 quickly.  I have a deliciously awesome Frost Mage that needs to get his ass geared for raids (still needs to be hit-capped, pretty much).  I have a bunch of professions that need to be maxed.  I have a bunch of money that needs to be spent/saved for whenever.  There’s a shitton of things for me to do in WoW, and I find myself rather overwhelmed with it all.

Not overwhelmed enough to quit, however.

I find it quite strange that there are so many people who (in my twitter feed specifically) are shrugging at what’s been given to them.  The game has changed.  The game has lost its magic.  I’m already bored.  My class is ruined forever.  I’ve run out of things to do.  I’m having way too much fun with this other game right now.  That’s completely fine.  Everyone is entitled to their own opinion.  I could just as easily reply to everyone with a resounding clash of ladels against pots, going “LA LA LA LA I CAN’T HEAR YOU I’M HAVING TOO MUCH FUN,” but I’d rather just keep it to this blog, which, much to my dismay, has suffered as a result of having said fun.

That said, I’d like to let you know what’s going on over here in LALALALAFUNLAND.

The Mage

Bashertin has been gradually grinding himself out a raid set.  His ilvl has reached 346, meaning that he’s pretty much ready to get upgrades from raid content.  Outside of daily queuing for heroic Throne of the Tides for the Cerith Spire Staff that NEVER drops, he’s pretty much done with heroics.  In 5-mans, he’s cranking out a decent amount of damage that seems to be on par with everyone else in similar gear (and in the odd case, beating people with superior gear).  He doesn’t feel underpowered, or ridiculously broken.  He’s done everything from sheeping, kiting adds, spellstealing hilariously powerfull buffs (try stealing the swell buff from the elemental mobs leading up to Neptulon’s room in TotT, you’ll thank me later), popping invisibility at numerous (not unfairly so) wipes, and even soloing the last few percentage points of some bosses (Mirror Image is a very useful tool!)

There’s not much left for this guy that can be done in 5-man dungeons.  He needs to craft his epic tailoring stuff though, as well as maxing out said tailoring (and enchanting) profession; nothing a few hours at the Broken Front in Tol Barad can’t fix.  Justice Points have outlived their usefulness, paving the way for some useful JP dumps when they become available.

The Alts

Kirlia, formerly known as Leyola, the feral/resto druid, hit 85 this past week, but still needs to replace a lot of her gear before being eligible to do heroics.  It’s completely fine, since she’s a gatherbot for my other alts anyway.  It’s quite telling that she dinged 85 from mining a pyrite node.  She’s also the moneymaker as well, selling high-end herbs for exorbitant amounts on the auction house.  I don’t mind price gouging; as long as I farmed the stuff myself, I feel entitled to charge whatever the hell I want for my raw mats.  I kinda wish I could sell them for more, though.

Wimzig, unfortunately, is still level 82.  Much like Wrath, a large amount of his experience is coming from daily Jewelcrafting quests, and farming the earth elementals in Hyjal for volatiles.  As the “other” frost-specced toon, I feel obliged to do something more with him, but alas, time is limited.

Uxie, formerly known as Umbreon, is my new Gnomish Shadow Priest.  She’s just so adorable.  I want to hug her for being so awesome.  She’s the only character in my roster that actually has a maxed out crafting profession (Alchemy).  I’m a bit mad that despite being transmute-specced, I haven’t gotten a single proc from anything, not even from rare gem transmutes.  It sucks.  She’s a few volatile earths away from 525 Engineering as well.  Alchemy/Engineering is an interesting combination this expansion, and I can’t wait to see it in action when she hits 85 (currently 83).

Marill, formerly known as Leafeon, is my Human Hunter (formerly Orc), and is the next closest one to 85.  Recently dinging 84 after grinding furiously on skinnable mobs, she’s got a nice stable of exotic pets to show off her beast mastery, including a shale spider, spirit beast, devilsaur, silithid, and core hound.  I’ve gotten a bit of flack for my hunter, since she doesn’t actually name her pets.  Something about not really caring about the pet/owner relationship, or lore-based reasons, or some other jazz.  The thing is, she is very much attached to her pets.  Her Spirit Bear has been around since she hit the appropriate level to tame him.  In fact, she tamed two.  the first one had a name, but then she regretted naming him at all, and thus tamed another one right after.  He’s been with her ever since.

There’s nothing wrong with keeping the default names.  Default names are kinda charming in their own way, much like how Farmer Hoggett names his pig Pig, in the move Babe.  Are you going to argue against the logic of a man who won the hearts of sheep-hearding enthusiasts all over the world county?  I wouldn’t.  Spirit Beast will remain Spirit Beast, and I don’t care what people think.

The Lowbies

My altitis continues with even more alts than I can count.  Having abandoned my non-80 alts back on Winterhoof, I’ve come around to leveling a new batch of them again…possibly later on as part of a recruit-a-friend gig with a second account.  With the advent of Pokemon Black and White, I’ve named my gnome alts after their starters.  Tepig the Rogue, Snivy the Warlock, and Oshawott the Warrior.  To round out my “one of each class” theme on Feathermoon, the Paladin and Shaman are both hordeside, Tauren and Goblin, respectively.  I’ve tried their starting zones, and enjoyed them to a great extent; Blizzard has done a wonderful job with re-envisioning the way people level up, and I can’t wait to find time to sink my teeth into some Horde lowbie questing as well.

Freeze-in?

Whatever burnout is, it definitely isn’t what I’m experiencing in-game at the moment. There’s way too much to do for me to blog about it, and when it comes to Frost Magery, there’s a whole new ballgame for me to talk about.  The game has changed for the better, in my opinion, and I haven’t enjoyed the game as much as I do now as I ever have.  Bravo, Blizzard, for ruining my life, alongside tvtropes.  Kudos to you, you magnificent bastards.

11 thoughts on “The Opposite of Burnout

  1. I couldn’t agree more!

    I am having a great time, but for some reason my raid team is dwindling. Mostly due to boredom, burnout, etc.

    But I am glad to hear someone else is having a good time of it :)

    • I think the 10-man mode was put there for a reason, so that raiding guilds wouldn’t die out so much if they didn’t mind doing smaller raids than their normal 25-mans.

  2. Miss you over on the Hoof, but glad to hear you’re enjoying the game so much!

    I’ve actually gone and done something I said I’d never do … yes, that’s right, my mage has finally given frost a try, and I love it so much I’m even running it in raids. :D

    • Yar! I guess I ought to start writing some practical guides. You know, the ones that provide tips beyond Rotation/Stats/Spec.

  3. I feel a lot like you. I have two raid geared toons and yet I have so much else I would rather be doing. I have so many alts I want to level, professions to max out, arch to complete.

    The list goes on and on. Like you, I haven’t been blogging because there just isn’t much that I could say.

    Happy to hear that you are still kicking ass frost style :)

  4. I’m in the same boat. My poor neglected blog. :(
    But my worgen is almost lvl 50, and I have a tauren pally I’ve been playing with my brother’s alts, and I almost have my 3rd max-lvl character. So much fun.

    And about the pet naming thing? I admit I can be rather OCD about ‘My pet must have a real name’, but really, if it works for you it doesn’t matter what other people say. Amirite? :)

Leave a Reply

