Frost is the New Beta

Welcome to Frost is the New Black’s coverage of the Cataclysm Beta!  If you have been directed to this site via World of Raids and the Curse Network, then I welcome you to my blog, and I hope that you will find the information here pertaining to the beta, likewise my opinions and analysis of the development of Frost Mages in the new expansion.  If you are a regular reader of the blog, old and new, I hope you will continue to enjoy the posts I will be putting up in this blog.

In preparation for the Beta, I have gone through considerable changes to my hardware in order to fully experience the new expansion’s content.  Throughout all of Wrath of the Lich King and Burning Crusade, I played on a measly Pentium 4, which by itself, was the minimum ability of my computer to play the game at all.  I raided Icecrown Citadel not only with the lowest settings, but also in windowed mode at 800×600 resolution.  It was fine for me, but anticipating the graphical upgrades coming in the new expansion based on the jump that occurred between BC and LK, there is no reason for me to think that I could do the same.

Thus, I have gone and purchased a new computer altogether that will more than handle the game.  With my Gateway FX6831, complete with Intel i7 2.8 GHz processor, Radeon 5853 video card, 12 GB DDR3 RAM, and 23″ LCD monitor, I am not only able to play WoW at max settings at 1920×1080 fullscreen resolution, but also do crazy things like set my spell detail to 150 with no framerate drop.  The first time I cast blizzard, I literally had a double rainbow moment.

OH MY GOD, INFINITE BLIZZARD ALL THE WAY.  WHAT DOES THIS MEAN?

So today, the beta is pretty much a go.  Expect the style of coverage to take the form of a logbook of things I’ve done, my internal responses to these experiences, as well as various forms of pondering and speculation regarding the direction to which the game should go, both class mechanics-wise and design philosophy-wise.  I will completely omit lore-centric spoilers, such as details regarding the status of existing lore characters and their place within cataclysm storyline.  In doing so, I am also asking commenters to follow in the same vein.

However, that does not mean I will omit details regarding mechanics changes to Frost Mages in particular.  This is a Frost Mage blog after all, and spec coverage is pretty much what I was given the beta key for.

In closing, I would like to once again thank Curse Network for providing me with a beta key in return for assisting with class coverage during the Cataclysm testing process.  I look forward to putting both feet into the waters of the beta, and I hope you will all enjoy this ride with me.  I am way too excited!

9 thoughts on “Frost is the New Beta

    • 2400, including the tower, 24″ LCD monitor, and a 4-year warranty, which I got for the price of 3 years. Gateway has a pretty bad reputation with customer service, so I erred on the side of caution and got the store’s service package.

  1. ugh… I am really dreading having to upgrade for Cata. I’m totally fine playing at the lowest possible settings, and if I have to buy a new computer because Blizz makes everything require higher settings, I’m going to be quite ticked.

    And why would anyone want their Blizzard to look like that? It decreases situational awareness ridiculously. If an add were coming for your healer you wouldn’t notice it until your healer died.

  2. Wait…that’s what Blizzard is supposed to look like?

    *nerdgasms*

    I’ve been contemplating getting a desktop (I’ve been playing WoW on laptops my entire WoW life) just to see what happens…and if that’s the result, then I don’t know what I’m waiting for. What with CS5 of the Adobe Package out, and some new music composition software that is absolutely mind boggling with the control you can have over individual notes of a performance to make it sound more human and less midi…well, I think I know what I’m doing soon.

    While I don’t have $2400 to spend (I’m a poor graduate student after all) I can probably scrape together enough to make my overall computing experience a lot better than it currently is.

    I can’t wait to hear more about Beta though, especially the talent changes. Right now, I’m a bit non-plussed with the way they’re approaching it, but once it’s finalized it should be very interesting…

Leave a Reply

