The World of Lorecraft

Earlier this week, in anticipation of Christie Golden’s release of Arthas: Rise of the Lich King, I took it upon myself to purchase all of the Warcraft novels that I have not yet read.  Having previously completed the War of the Ancients trilogy, Rise of the Horde, Tides of Darkness, and Through the Dark Portal, I stumbled into my local Chapters and found myself a copy of the Warcraft Archive, which included Day of the Dragon, Lord of the Clans, The Last Guardian, and Of Blood and Honor.  I also picked up Night of the Dragon, Richard A. Knaak’s follow-up to Day.  So far, I’ve finished everything except Night of the Dragon.  And so far, I am yet to be disappointed.

All of the Warcraft novels have been quite solid, and despite people’s grievances over Richard Knaak’s writing style, I simply enjoy the storytelling overall, due to the massive amounts of lore and information these books provide.  As a mage, I’ve been literally drowning in fanservice.  In all of the books I’ve completed, there is yet to be a novel that does not include a mage in some way, shape or form.  Even in Rise of the Horde, where the orcs are mainly featured to not practice magic, their Draenei counterparts have small hints of spellcasting here and there.

That said, thinking about it now, I’ve noticed that these books provide ample amounts of spotlight to the current WoW classes.  Mages are mentioned very frequently and are the spotlight of The Last Guardian (a mage’s wet dream, and my favourite novel thus far).  Druids are represented by Malfurion in the War of the Ancients trilogy (although feral Druids get the shaft somewhat).  Hunters are represented by archers in the books spanning the second War, and the concept of “the hunt” is used frequently in Rise of the Horde.    Paladins are mentioned in the Warcraft II novels through Turalyon and the Silver Hand.  Thrall wields the shamanistic elements in Lord of the Clans.  Warlocks have a significant role in Warcraft II and The Last Guardian.  Night Elf Priests show their prowress in the Ancients trilogy.  In The Last Guardian, Garona has many attributes of a Rogue, much like a few other unknown shadowy figures.

And I’m sure Death Knights will make an appearance in Rise of the Lich King.  I just know it.

And while the classes are more or less represented, I’m somewhat worried about racial representation.  Draenei are featured in Rise of the Horde, Night Elves get their own trilogy, Humans and Orcs are unavoidable, Dwarves and Trolls are formidable allies for their respective sides, and even Blood Elves are featured in their pre-Scourge forms.  But amidst all this, the Tauren and the Gnomes remain relatively obscure, gnomes especially.

As a gnomaholic, I’m a bit disappointed by this fact, especially considering that they have a very large following, balanced by a slew of haters here and there.  And while this polarization may be the reason why gnomes are not mentioned in any sort of spotlight, I feel that there are existing lore elements about the gnomes that have so much potential to be of some merit.

The Deeprun Tram, the fall of gnomeregan, the numerous inventions, their contributions to the Second War and the War of the Three Hammers, Gelbin Mekkatorque.  Only the first and last on this list have been mentioned, and only in one small section in Through the Dark Portal that spans barely a quarter of a chapter.

Come on, Chris Metzen.  Do you hate us gnomes that much?

Balderdash!  If nobody will write this gnome epic, then I will!  Picture this.  A Trilogy spanning the entire known history of the gnomish race, from the council of Tirisfal, to the construction of the Deeprun Tram, to the fall of Gnomeregan, all the way to the exploration of Ulduar.  The trilogy ties the lives of the last council of gnomes, including Mekkatorque, Thermaplugg, a pair of Kirin Tor mages (one of them a warlock-in-disguise), and a tinker of the Explorer’s League, before the fall of Gnomeregan.

Several storylines will span from Mekkatorque and Thermaplugg’s relationship leading up to Gnomeregan in, the fallout of the Kirin Tor gnomes after gnomeregan and a secret civil war between gnomish mages and warlocks during the Burning Crusade, and the discovery of The Grand Architect in Ulduar and the origins of gnomekind revealed.

Throughout the gnomish history, they will be portrayed as a independent, ingenuitive people at first united by their pride in their grand city of Gnomeregan and their contributions to the various wars in history.  They will struggle to find themselves after the fall of the city, their hopes and dreams once again renewed by their exploits in Ulduar and the confrontation of the Grand Architect, as well as the lair of the troggs that destroyed their cherished city.

Book 1: The Rise of Gnomeregan
Book 2: Plight of the Gnomes
Book 3: The Secrets of Ulduar

Will I follow through on this idea?  I certainly would like to!  I am quite excited by the idea, and I surely hope that I can get around to doing so after my exams are done!  Until then, cya on the other side of the internether!

5 thoughts on “The World of Lorecraft

  1. Good luck. I am horde, but would still read it.

    I think my favorite book so far is Rise of the Horde, followed closely by Lord of the Clans (sorry Thrall was a bad ass in that boook).

    I really really like the back story that the books provide. WoW is the first game I have played that I actually have gotten into and enjoyed the lore of. I feel that the books really bring a lot to the game.

  2. @Lar: I can always count on you and your support. My many thanks!

    @smart: I absolutely LOVE Rise. It makes me want to roll an Orc Shaman. Not a warlock though, I hate orc warlocks, those evil bastards, haha!

  3. I read the Archive novels and loved “Lord of the Clans” and “Of Blood and Honor.” I’m currently reading the 2nd of the Ancients/Well trilogy. I enjoy the lore immensely.

    Although I joke about my dislike of Gnomes (I -am- Horde afterall…) I would definitely be interested in reading more about them.

    So, time for you to write, Krizz! :)

  4. I wouldn’t call myself a gnome hater per se. . .I mean a lot of my fav bloggers are gnomes. . .however, I think there are a couple reasons they tend to be skipped over in lore. A) they basically almost exterminated themselves (see gnomergan), and B)their contributions to the world as a whole are pretty much on par with the goblins (technological prowress with no major heroes). Now, a lack of heroes could be more of a chicken and egg discussion. . .I loved the Warcraft archive btw. . .

Leave a Reply

