Checkpoint Charlie

It’s been nearly 3 weeks, or 21 days, since I gave up WoW for Lent.  This means that I’m practically at the halfway point by now.  I’m trotting along quite nicely, which is not too surprising to me.  Sans WoW, I can still live comfortably with my many other hobbies and commitments.  School is always there, and in some ways I’m thankful that I can shift a tiny bit more priority towards it.

However, it’s the other interests and hobbies that I have recently rediscovered and learned to love again.

Video Games

This one’s obvious, right?  The week I cancelled my WoW account, I went straight to EB Games (AKA Gamestop south of the border) and got myself an xbox live card.  I went home and proceeded to play the heck out of my box and my recently acquired Street Fighter IV.  The game is BEAUTIFUL. 

I also ordered this new game for my DS called Enchanted Folk and the School of Wizardry.  It was recently released last week in Europe, and won’t come out in America until May.  It’s essentially an improved version of Animal Crossing, and as the title suggests, it adds a touch of Harry Potter to it.  I received it in the mail yesterday, and I am loving every minute of it.

Anime

I was the president of my University’s anime club during my supposed senior year.  Having burned out on the administrative nightmares attached to running a campus club, I avoided anime like the plague when the school year was over.  I can probaby attest my falling in love with wow to said burnout. 

But as they say, absence makes the heart grow fonder.  With the commitment of Friday night raids suddenly a non-issue, I was able to come back to the club that I so loved this past Friday (the 13th!).  The atmosphere was wonderful, social, and ridiculously silly.  Watched a bunch of new stuff that I’ve never seen before, and it’s the same old song and dance.  I look forward to coming back this week.

Writing

Blogging aside, I’ve always been a fan of creative writing, fiction, fanfiction, or otherwise.  After class, I strolled into the computer lab and unknowingly ended up on fanfiction.net.  I began to read all of my old fics, and amidst the laughs, tears, and passages that make me want to slit my own throat for ever writing, it really hit home why I started my ffnet account in the first place.

I’d love to get back into that groove of fanfiction, and thanks to Bre and Von’s fiction-writing podcast, I’ve been definitely thinking about starting a second blog devoted purely to my creative writing.

World of Warcraft

As I’ve already said, absence makes the heart grow stronger.  And for something as amazing as World of Warcraft, my ~20 days away have certainly made me think about how I spend my time playing the game, and how I can possibly manage that kind of time alongside the other things in my life that I love.

I realized that when I come back, WoW will still be WoW.  Ulduar could be out by the time I reinstall, but at that point, I’ll be at the same point as everyone else.  While I certainly haven’t killed all the raid bosses, I’ve definitely at least experienced them.  Even malygos up to the third phase.  To some, boss kills and loot are the big deal.  For me, it’s just being able to experience the content.  It’s always been experiencing the content, as I have stated when I started blogging in the first place.

Definitions of casual/hardcore are too ambiguous between people for me to be able to classify myself with demographics.  Instead, I see myself as someone who is passionate about the game, but is not deeply invested in it.  Call that hardcore, casual, or casually hardcore, whatever you will.  Whatever it is, that love for Frost is always there, and I’ll always be here to blog about it.

3 thoughts on “Checkpoint Charlie

Leave a Reply

